
Article 19    - Miscellaneous Appeals Pursuant to State Employees 
 Labor Relations Act
 
Section 19.1 Appeals Pursuant to 3 V.S.A. Section 1001(a) 
 

Appeals filed pursuant to 3 V.S.A. Section 1001(a) shall be heard by the Board 
only after exhaustion of all administrative procedures that may be required by the State of 
Vermont, Vermont State Colleges or the University of Vermont.  Such appeals must be 
filed within 30 days after receipt of final decision of the employer, provided notice of 
right of appeal to the Board is contained in the notice of the employer's final decision. 
Proceedings with respect to appeals filed pursuant to 3 V.S.A. Section 1001(a) shall 
conform to the following provisions: 
 

(A) An appeal shall be in writing and signed by the appellant or his/her 
representative. 

 
(B) The notice of appeal shall contain: 

 
(1) The full name and address of the person filing the appeal; 

 
(2) The full name and address of the employer involved; 

 
(3) A concise statement of the nature of the appeal, including a statement 

of the date the matter leading to such appeal arose; 
 

(4) Specific references to any pertinent rule or regulation; and 
 

(5) A brief statement of the facts concerning the appeal. 
 

(C) All parties in interest shall have the right to file an answer within 20 days 
after service of the appeal.  Upon application, the Board may extend the time 
within which the answer shall be filed. 

 
(D) The answer shall admit or deny each specific allegation  contained in the 
appeal or shall indicate any lack of knowledge or information thereof sufficient to 
form a belief.  An allegation in the appeal not specifically denied in the answer, 
unless the party asserts it is without knowledge or information thereof sufficient to 
form a belief, shall be deemed admitted and shall be so found by the Board. 
Allegations of new matter in the answer shall be deemed denied without the 
necessity of a reply. 

 
(E) Failure to file a timely answer may be deemed by the Board to constitute an 
admission of the material facts alleged in the appeal and a waiver by the party of an 
evidentiary hearing, leaving a question or questions of law to be determined by the 
Board. 

 



 
Section 19.2 Dispute Concerning the Amount of Collective Bargaining   
   Service Fee 
 

Any dispute concerning the amount of a collective bargaining service fee may be 
grieved to the Board by affected nonmember(s) of an employee organization in 
accordance with the Board’s rules concerning grievances pursuant to 3 V.S.A. Section 
1001(c). Accordingly, such dispute will be heard by the Board provided that any 
nonmember(s) objecting to the amount of the collective bargaining fee files notice of 
such dispute with the Board within 30 days after receipt of the final decision of the 
employee organization addressing the objection of the nonmember(s) to the amount of 
the collective bargaining service fee. Proceedings before the Board with respect to such 
disputes shall conform to the following provisions: 
 

(A) A notice of dispute shall be in writing and signed by the person(s) filing the 
dispute or such person(s)’ representative. 

 
(B) The notice of dispute shall contain: 

 
(1) The full name and address of the person(s) filing the notice of 
 dispute; 

 
(2) The full name and address of the employee organization involved; 

 
(3) A concise statement of relevant facts and the nature of the dispute, 

including the amount of the collective bargaining fee assessed by the 
employee organization; the particular expenditures of the employee 
organization which are disputed, if known by the disputant; and the 
disputant’s position as to what amount is appropriate to assess for the 
collective bargaining fee; and 

 
(4) the date the disputant received the final decision of the employee 

organization addressing the objection of the nonmember(s) to the 
amount of the collective bargaining service fee. 

 
(C) The employee organization shall have the right to file an answer within 20 
days after service of the notice of dispute.  Upon application, the Board may extend 
the time within which the answer shall be filed. 

 
(D) The answer shall admit or deny each specific allegation contained in the 
notice of dispute or shall indicate any lack of knowledge or information thereof 
sufficient to form a belief.  An allegation in the notice of dispute not specifically 
denied in the answer, unless the party asserts it is without knowledge or 
information thereof sufficient to form a belief, shall be deemed admitted and shall 
be so found by the Board.  Allegations of new matter in the answer shall be 
deemed denied without the necessity of a reply. 



 
(E) Failure to file a timely answer may be deemed by the Board to constitute an 
admission of the material facts alleged in the notice of dispute and a waiver by the 
employee organization of an evidentiary hearing, leaving a question or questions of 
law to be determined by the Board. 

 
 
 Article 19A - Hearing Officer 
 

The Board may appoint one of its members, the Board Executive Director or other 
qualified individual to act as a hearing officer to determine the relevant facts of a 
particular case and to issue a recommended opinion and order, or to determine the 
relevant facts of a case without issuing a recommended opinion and order.  Hearings 
before the hearing officer shall be informal.  Parties shall be given the opportunity to file 
exceptions to facts found and any recommended opinion and order.  If exceptions to facts 
are filed, the Board shall hold an evidentiary hearing to determine facts in dispute.  If no 
exceptions to facts are filed and the case remains unresolved, the Board shall give the 
parties an opportunity to argue orally before the Board and to submit written briefs.  
Subsequently, the Board shall issue a written decision. 
 


