VERMONT LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

PETITION OF:)	
)	DOCKET NO. 10-13
WINOOSKI POLICE EMPLOYEES)	
ASSOCIATION)	

ORDER

On April 1, 2010, the Winooski Police Employees Association filed a Petition for Election of Collective Bargaining Representative seeking to represent the dispatchers, police officers, corporals, detectives, sergeants and staff sergeants of the City of Winooski Police Department. These employees currently comprise a bargaining unit represented by AFSCME Council 93, Local 1343, AFL-CIO. In response to the petition, neither the City of Winooski nor AFSCME Council 93, Local 1343, AFL-CIO asserted that a collective bargaining agreement barred an election or raised questions of unit determination or representation.

On May 24, 2010, Labor Relations Board Executive Director Timothy Noonan conducted an election among the above-described employees in Winooski City Council Chambers. Michael Blair was present as an election observer for AFSCME Council 93, Local 1343, AFL-CIO. The Winooski Police Employees Association had no observer present during the casting of ballots; Association President Jason Nokes observed the counting of ballots. The City of Winooski had no observer. Employees were asked if they desire to be represented for exclusive bargaining purposes by AFSCME Council 93, Local 1343, AFL-CIO; Winooski Police Employees Association; or neither. 13 of 16 eligible employees voted. The results of the election were:

AFSCME Council 93, Local 1343, AFL-CIO 0

Winooski Police Employees Association 12

Neither 1

As a result of this election, it is ordered:

The Winooski Police Employees Association is certified as the exclusive bargaining representative of the dispatchers, police officers, corporals, detectives, sergeants and staff sergeants of the City of Winooski Police Department effective July 1, 2010.

Dated this 9th day of June, 2010, at Montpelier, Vermont.

VERMONT LABOR RELATIONS BOARD /s/ Edward R. Zuccaro Edward R. Zuccaro, Chairperson /s/ Richard W. Park Richard W. Park /s/ Leonard J. Berliner Leonard J. Berliner /s/ James C. Kiehle James C. Kiehle /s/ Gary F. Karnedy Gary F. Karnedy /s/ Louis Lacroix Louis Lacroix